### A-State Faculty Senate Friday, September 15, 2017 Minutes

#### Present:

### **Steering Committee**

Mike McDaniel - Chair/President	Present
Loretta McGregor – President Elect	Present
Vice Chair – Claire Abernathy	Present
Secretary – April Sheppard	Present
Joanna Grymes - Secretary/Treasurer Faculty Association	Present
	Loretta McGregor – President Elect Vice Chair – Claire Abernathy Secretary – April Sheppard

# Agriculture and Engineering (2)

٠	Greg Phillips	Present
٠	Shivan Haran	Present

# Business (3)

•	Sharon James	Present
•	Richard Segall	Present
٠	Philip Tew	Present

# Education & Behavioral Science (6)

٠	Jeonghee Choi	Present
٠	Amanda Wheeler	Present
٠	David Holman	Present
٠	Sharon Davis	Present
٠	Gwen Neal	Present
٠	Amy Pearce	Present

# Fine Arts (3), Humanities & Social Sciences (6), and Media & Communications (2)

# Fine Arts (3),

•	Claire Abernathy	Present
٠	Matthew Carey	Present
•	Bill Rowe	Present

# Humanities & Social Sciences (5)

٠	Win Bridges	Present
٠	Richard Burns	Present

<ul> <li>Mary Donaghy</li> <li>William Maynard</li> <li>Rollin Tusalem</li> </ul>	Present Present Present	
Media & Communications (2)		
<ul><li>Manu Bhandari</li><li>Pradeep Mishra</li></ul>	Present Present	
Library & Information Resources (1)		
April Sheppard	Present	
Military Science (1)		
Major Brian Mason	Present	
Nursing & Health Professions (6)		
<ul> <li>Annette Bednar</li> <li>Jody Long</li> <li>Stacy Walz</li> <li>Donna Caldwell</li> <li>Jessie Camp</li> <li>Mollie Manning</li> </ul>	Present Present Present Present Present Present	
Science & Mathematics (5)		
<ul> <li>Travis Marsico</li> <li>Ross Carroll</li> <li>William Paulsen</li> <li>Suzanne Melescue</li> <li>Jeff Jenness</li> </ul>	Present Present Present Present Present	
University College (1)		
Nikesha Nesbit	Present	

Proxies:

Guests:

Chair McDaniel called the meeting to order at 3:30 pm by welcoming the Senators and guests to the first meeting of the year. He recognized Greg Phillips as the Past-President of Faculty Association and Past Chair of the Faculty Senate, and then recognized Amber Wooten as the Secretary of the Senate from the 16-17 year.

Chair McDaniel put forth a call for nominations for Vice Chair and Secretary of the Senate for 17-18. President-Elect McGregor nominated Senator Claire Abernathy for Vice Chair. The nomination was seconded and Senator Greg Phillips moved nominations close. The motion was seconded and Senator Abernathy was elected Vice Chair.

Senator April Sheppard nominated herself as Secretary, President-Elect McGregor seconded. Senator Sheppard was unanimously elected to the post of Secretary.

Chair McDaniel noted that Jolene Sinclair was continuing to serve as the webmaster for the Senate and would post minutes once approved.

Chair McDaniel provided an update on the Shared Governance process and the current status of documents related to the Faculty Handbook and Shared Governance.

- The Faculty Grievance Section had been vetted through the Shared Governance system but was pulled from the Board of Trustee's agenda due to an issue identified by University Council. That has been revised and now has been approved through to the Board of Trustees
- Sections 1, 2, 3 of the Faculty Handbook have moved through Shared Governance. Section V, Faculty as Employees is moving through the approval process.
- There are now 3 related documents; Shared Governance Handbook, Faculty Handbook, and Book of Committees. These all share the same format and link to each other.
- There is work to be done on the Book of Committees in terms of effective vs unnecessary committees, but it will be an easier process to make those changes at this time.

Chair McDaniel stated there had been some call for the creation of a space especially for Faculty use on campus and this was something he would pursue.

Chancellor Damphousse addressed the Senate. He provided an update on some of his work and focus since arriving in July. He stated he prefers to think of himself as a faculty member first and an administrator second. Some of the concerns he spoke to included:

- The expense of unfinished educations/degrees.
- Mexico campus began with 221 students enrolled; it was not impacted by the Sep 7 earthquake.
- Importance of recruiting students but also retaining the ones we recruit.
- A-State could be more successful at recruiting from the system's 2 year colleges.
- The new funding formula is still in process of development.

Questions posed to Dr. Damphousse included:

- Can we improve the system with a better concurrence of coursework so courses do transfer better from two-year campuses to A-State.
- What is the vision for research and how does that impact graduate students/GAs/TAs, the disparity of workloads and the lack of tuition waivers.
- How does the university address the barriers for moving forward from a Carnegie M1 to a Carnegie Doctoral level
  - A specific question about faculty load defined as 15 hours in the Faculty Handbook was addressed; we need more students and more resources in order to begin to change that expectations. The focus would be to increase undergraduate student numbers to increase number of faculty overall, to then be able to lower teaching loads.

• What is the differentiation between certificates and minors; certificates can be completed regardless of degree status; minors are award with a degree; funding formula counts certificates but not minors.

Chair McDaniel noted that Marika Kyriakos was in attendance representing the Chairs Council but there did not seem to be a Dean's representative at this meeting; he was not certain the Dean's representative had been identified.

Chair McDaniel provided information about President Welch's system-wide efficiency initiative. A consultant will be involved with the campus to review the university for efficiency in processes soon.

Chair McDaniel commented that he had accomplished most of the goals he had personally set for himself and the Faculty Association and Faculty Senate. If individuals have issues or concerns related to the faculty, please share them with him.

Senator Burns moved and Senator Haran seconded approval of the minutes as distributed; motion passed.

Senator Segal expressed appreciation on behalf of the Senate to Chair McDaniel for his work on behalf of the faculty and Faculty Association.

The meeting was adjourned approximately 3:50 pm.

Respectfully submitted, Joanna Grymes Secretary/Treasurer, Faculty Association